In governance, Our Virtual Mishkan

It has been my honour to serve as the Chair of the Nominating Committee. My sincere thanks to the members: Nadine Charendoff, Dr. Michael Davis, Phyllis Denaburg, Mala Greenbaum, Rick Howard, Karen Kollins, Brian Lidsky, and Rob Sniderman. And special thanks to Abigail Carpenter-Winch, Director of Membership and Community Engagement, for her participation and support.

One of the responsibilities of the Nominating Committee is to propose nominees for election to the Board of Directors. This election takes place annually at the Temple’s Annual General Meeting, this year on Sunday, November 29, 2020, at 10:00 am.

We would like to thank all congregants who talked with us about their interest in serving on the Board of Directors.  There is great talent among the Holy Blossom Temple membership and I encourage anyone who has an interest in taking on a greater leadership role to reach out to me, President Avra Rosen or Abigail at [email protected]. Your participation is always welcome.

In accordance with the Holy Blossom Temple By-Law, Sections 2.1 and 2.4, the following members are hereby nominated for election to the Board.

The Committee nominates as Officers:

  •  Rick Howard [1] (2-year term) Vice President, At Large
  • Les Rothschild (2-year term) Vice President, Kehillah Kedoshah
  • Gerry Prendergast (for a second 2-year term) Vice President, Worship

The following Officers have one year remaining on their terms:

  • Avra Rosen, President
  • Ellen Cole, Vice President, Administration
  • Alison Schwartz, Vice President, Development
  • Aubrey Freeman, Vice President, Education
  • Adam Stiavnicky, Vice President, Finance
  • Darren Sukonick, Vice President, Membership
  • Jill Witkin, Vice President, Tikun Olam
  • Judy Winberg, Immediate Past President (Ex-Officio)

The Committee nominates as Directors for a three-year term:

  • Sarah McNally
  • Marla Spiegel
  • Daniel Wilson

 The following Directors have two years remaining on their terms:

  • Corinne Black
  • Mike Morgulis
  • Avram Musafija

The following Directors have one year remaining on their terms:

  • Maddie Axelrod
  • Tom Friedland
  • Adam Sniderman

The committee expresses its appreciation to those Officers and Directors who have served the Temple and will be retiring from the Board at the end of this Board year:

  • Mark Goodman
  • Elana Paice Lidsky
  • Julie Solomon

Pursuant to our bylaw, additional candidates for any position may be nominated by members of the Temple.  Nominations must be submitted in writing to Executive Director, Ron Polster ([email protected]), signed by at least 10 Temple members in good standing and by the nominated member, on or before Thursday, October 15, 2020.


Judy Winberg

Chair, Nominating Committee


[1]  Conflict of interest declared.  Rick Howard absent during discussion of this position.


Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Most Recent Projects