In Featured at HBT, First, governance

Holy Blossom Temple
Sunday, November 18, 2018, at 10:00 a.m.

Holy Blossom Temple members in good standing are invited to join us at our Annual General Meeting on Sunday, November 18, 2018. Morning Services begin at 9:00 a.m. in the Youth Chapel, followed by breakfast sponsored by Holy Blossom Temple Brotherhood & Sisterhood. The meeting will commence at 10:00 a.m. in the Philip Smith Congregational Hall.


1. approve the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Members, held on November 19, 2017;
2. elect the Board of Directors and Officers;
3. receive an update on the financial position of the Temple for the year ended June 30, 2018*;
4. appoint auditors for the 2018/2019 fiscal year and authorize the Board of Directors to fix their remuneration; and
5. receive various reports from Temple leadership.

*PLEASE NOTE: The audited financial statements, will, regrettably, not be ready for presentation on November 18th. Accordingly, following the presentation of the above-noted items, the meeting will be adjourned until 6:30 pm on Thursday, December 13, 2018, at Temple. At the meeting on December 13th, the audited financial statements will be presented following their approval by the Board.


The following Officers and Directors have been nominated by the Nominating Committee for election at the meeting. In addition, a general call for nominations was circulated to the Congregation and no further nominees were put forward.

The Committee nominates as Officers for a two-year term:

President: Judy Winberg (1 year remaining in term)
Vice President at Large: Darren Sukonick (1 year remaining in term)
Vice President Administration (and Secretary/Treasurer): Avra Rosen (1 year remaining in term)
Vice President Development: Alison Schwartz (nominated for a 2-year term)
Vice President Education: Dylan Aster (1 year remaining in term)
Vice President Finance (and Financial Secretary): Adam Stiavnicky (nominated for a 2-year term)
Vice President Kehillah Kedosha (“Sacred Community”): Julie Solomon (nominated for a 2-year term)
Vice President Membership: Cheryl Sylvester (1 year remaining in term)
Vice President Tikkun Olam (“Social Justice”) and Israel: Jill Witkin (nominated for a 2-year term)
Vice President Worship: Gerry Prendergast (nominated for a 2-year term)

The Directors at Large will be:

Maddie Axlerod (nominated for a 3-year term)
Ellen Cole (nominated for a 3-year term)
Tom Friedland (nominated for a 3-year term)
Adam Sniderman (nominated for a 3-year term)

Elana Paice-Lidsky (2 years remaining in term)
Mark Goodman (2 years remaining in term)

Jeff Baker (1 year remaining in term)
Corinne Black (1 year remaining in term)
Mike Morgulis (1 year remaining in term)

In accordance with the By-law, the Board will also include, as Ex-Officio members:

Immediate Past President: Joan Garson (voting member)
Senior Rabbi; Executive Director; and two President’s Council Nominees (all non-voting members)

The Committee expresses its appreciation to those directors who have served the Temple well and will be retiring from the Board:

Jeff Denaburg
Jascha Jabes
Jeff Meilach
Mark Schlossberg
Vanessa Yakobson

On Behalf of the Board of Directors
Avra Rosen, Secretary
Toronto, Canada, October 14, 2018

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Most Recent Projects