In governance

The Nominating Committee hereby provides its report to the Congregation for consideration by members of the Temple at the Annual General Meeting on Sunday, November 20, 2016.

The new Temple By-law, approved by the Congregation at last year’s Annual General Meeting, will take effect on November 19, 2016. Accordingly, the Committee has nominated Board members consistent with the new By-law.

The Committee nominates as Officers for a two year term:

President: Joan Garson (for a one year term only)
Vice President Administration (and Secretary/Treasurer): Avra Rosen
Vice President Development: Vanessa Yakobson
Vice President Education: Judy Winberg
Vice President Finance (and Financial Secretary): Jeff Meilach
Vice President Jewish Living: Jascha Jabes
Vice President Membership: Cheryl Sylvester
Vice President Worship: Jeff Denaburg
Vice President At Large: Darren Sukonick

The Committee nominates as Directors for a three year term:

Jeff Baker
Corinne Black*
Steve Rayson**
Adam Stiavnicky

*  Nominee proposed by Sisterhood in accordance with the new By-law
**Nominee proposed by Brotherhood in accordance with the new By-law

The Committee nominates as Directors for a two year term:

Tom Friedland
Mark Schlossberg
Adam Sniderman

The Committee nominates as Directors for a one year term:

Bob Charendoff
Elana Paice Lidsky
Gail Silver

Candidates for any of the above-listed positions may also be nominated by members of the Temple in accordance with the new By-law. Nominations must be submitted in writing to the administrative office of the Temple, identifying the nominee and the nominated position, on or before Tuesday, October 18, 2016, and must be signed by at least 10 Temple members in good standing and by the nominated member.

In accordance with the new By-law, the Board will also include, as Ex-Officio members:

Immediate Past President: Harvey Schipper (voting)

Senior Rabbi, Executive Director and two President’s Council Nominees (all non-voting)

The Committee expresses its appreciation to those Directors and Officers who have served the Temple honourably and will be retiring from the Board:

Phyllis Denaburg
Denise Gordon
Jane Herman
Rick Howard
Jonathan King

Gary Posen
Chair, Nominating Committee

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Most Recent Projects