In rabbinictransition

The Board of Directors of Holy Blossom constituted a Search Committee to select members with experience in governance and transition management to be the Chair and Vice Chair the Transition Steering Committee. Barry Campbell was selected as Chair and Owen Duckman the Vice-Chair. Chairs and Vice-Chairs of each of the underlying committees that will lead the Transition activities were selected based upon feedback from Board members, past Presidents, Department chairs, and Holy Blossom’s professional staff and clergy. The requirement is that these members have leadership experience, subject-matter expertise and as well represent different demographic and diverse segments of our congregation. In turn, these Chairs and Vice-Chairs have been asked to select additional members for their committees in order to ensure the broadest diversity of interests of our temple members. In some cases, Temple lay leadership will be added as resources to assist with committee work.

Transition Steering Committee


  • Morris Cooper | Joan Garson | Marty Goldberg | Larry Schwartz | Andrew Sheiner | Jascha Jabes | Judy Winberg

Brief Bios of Chairs and Vice-Chairs

Coming Together – (Click each name for full Bio)

[toggle title=”Chair – Wendy Eisen”] is a business executive who has been an active member of the Jewish community since the 1960s assuming senior leadership positions within UJA, Canadian Jewish Congress, State of Israel Bonds and the United Way. She has received various awards recognizing her dedication and outstanding leadership ability and as well played a prominent role in the global campaign to liberate Jews from the Soviet Union. Wendy is the founding chair of the Holy Blossom Temple Foundation and she is currently the National co-chair of the Canadian Friends of the Israel Museum. She is married, has four married daughters and nine grandchildren.
[/toggle] [toggle title=”Vice-Chair – Brian Schnurr”] is a senior lawyer whose practice is focused on mediation and the resolution of family disputes involving estates, trusts and powers of attorney. Brian’s history with Holy Blossom spans over 40 years. He is a former Holy Blossom board member and has served as the Co-Chair of both the Temple’s Mazon Committee and the Social Action Committee.  He has two children and one grandchild.
[/toggle] [toggle title=”Vice-Chair – Judy Winberg”] Judy Winberg is an educational consultant in private practice. A recipient of the Ontario Volunteer Service Award, Judy has extensive experience having served on the Board of CHW (Canadian Hadassah-WIZO) both at the national and local level. On the Board of Jewish Family and Child since 2001, Judy is currently the President of the Board of Directors. A member of Holy Blossom Temple since 1985, Judy served on the original HBT Transition Committee and recently completed the two year Adult B’Nei Mitzvah program. Judy is married to Jack and together they have three adult children. [/toggle]
  • Coming Together Committee: George Berger (Membership Chair), Rabbi Splansky, Cantor Maissner, Jane Herman, Rick Lash, Micki Mizrahi

Moving Forward – (Click each name for full Bio)

[toggle title=”Chair – Stephen Tile”] is a well respected marketing strategist and expert in the study of consumer behavior and attitudes and is currently the principal of a boutique consumer insight and strategy consultancy. He has broad experience as board member in the non-profit sector, having served with Sunnybrook Hospital, Toronto Symphony Orchestra and Canadian Friends of Yad Vashem. Stephen has been active at Holy Blossom since 1990, serving on the Board of Directors, the Foundation Board, the Marketing and Communications Committee as well as other numerous ad hoc committees. He is married with three university-aged children.
[/toggle] [toggle title=”Vice-Chair – Dr. Sharyn Salsberg Ezrin”] is a retired organizational psychologist with over 30 years experience as a management, transition and career consultant in the public and private sectors. She is a community leader, award winning professional, teacher and author who has written “Living Through Transitions” (2008, 2nd Edition), a book that presents a unique framework for anyone experiencing planned and unplanned transitions. Sharyn has been a Director of Jewish Family and Child Services and The Ontario Trillium Foundation, among many others and is currently a Lay Cantor at Holy Blossom Temple. Sharyn is married with two children and one grandson.

Search – (Click each name for full Bio)

[toggle title=”Chair – Hershell Ezrin”] is well-respected public and private sector leader and the Managing Director of a firm focused on the interrelationship among policy, interest groups, social networks and the Internet. He has served as a former Canadian Consul in the United States and was the Founding CEO of the Canadian Council for Israel and Jewish Advocacy (CIJA). Hershell has extensive private sector board experience and has led and served on numerous search committees in the profit and not for profit sectors, including the Jewish communal sector. He is a former Holy Blossom Board member, Holy Blossom Foundation Vice-Chair, Shiva services leader and Torah reader. He is married with two daughters and one grandson.
[/toggle] [toggle title=”Vice-Chair – David Ain”] is a Partner at the Toronto office of an international executive search firm, and a member of the firm’s Consumer, Industrial and Private Equity Practice Groups. He works on CEO and CFO assignments across a wide range of sectors. David is married with two young children who attended Holy Blossom Pre-School and Leo Baeck.
[/toggle] [toggle title=”Vice-Chair – Lorraine Loeb”] has worked as a research consultant in the not-for-profit and private sector. She has over thirty years of cumulative experience as a senior volunteer having served on the boards of a number of cultural, educational and philanthropic institutions including Invest in Kids Foundation, The C.M. Hincks Treatment Centre, The Mabin School, The Young People’s Theatre and The Canadian Society for the Weizmann Institute of Science. Lorraine has been an active Holy Blossom member previously serving as Board Member, Treasurer, and Chair of both the Architect Selection and Strategic Planning Committees. Lorraine and her husband Donald have four children who were educated in the after school Hebrew programs at Holy Blossom Temple.
  • Search Committee: David Greenberg (Worship Chair), Earl Lipson (Administration Chair), Gail Silver (Education Chair), Benjamin Applebaum (Executive Director), Josh Cooper, Dr. Ariel Dalfin, Nisa Krongold, Denise Zarn

We welcome your questions, comments and feedback.
Please contact us at [email protected]
or leave a voice-mail message at 416.789.3291 ext.518

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Most Recent Projects